Tiling onto Plywood: DavidM: 2/7/08 5:21 AM: I'm about to put ceramic tiles onto the splashback behind the kitchen worktops, up to the underside of the cupboards. We have a customer that would like to use 3/4" plywood in the same way you would attach drywall as a substrate for the solid surface panels. ), I am new to tiling ... need some advice please, Tiling on various surfaces - priming help/advice please. But its upto you, you can use plasterboard on the shower side but be aware of the safe weight guidelines of 32kg/sqm on plasterboard, you should include 2-4kg/sqm for the adhesive & grout. Laying tile over a plywood subfloor can be tricky, but if you prepare the sub floor properly, your tile floor will last for a lifetime. Plywood outlawed as wall tiling substrate August 2018. $(function(){ What type of plywood is best for strengthening floor. His reasoning is so that he can place grab bars anywhere he likes later on in life when needed without having to determine the exact location right now. Next Last. this should bring the cost of the job down. Plywood Substrate Alternatives . Tiling onto Plywood Showing 1-7 of 7 messages. $( "#submit-search" ).blur(); $("#local-search-form").submit(); Alternatively, another option is to strengthen the substrate with either a layer of floor screed or by overboarding with plywood/tile backer board, and then using an improved flexible (S1) tile adhesive . We didn't realise as the walls below are very thick and the ceiling below is lath and plaster (old cottage). Replies: 1 Views: 251. Hi and welcome to my channel, today I am going to be showing you how to prepare and screed a floor I am working on. I get the feeling that as a pretty new member offering advice its unwelcome by you & maybe Im stepping on your toes a little, I dunno. Insist on a decent waterproof, 12mm tile backer board instead, the cost difference over WBP is negligible but it will remain dimensionally stable even if totally immersed & you can tile straight onto